East Bengal FC go down 0-1 to Chennaiyin FC at home

East Bengal FC suffered their fourth defeat in the current edition of the Hero Indian Super League as they lost 0-1 to Chennaiyin FC at Kolkata’s Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan on Friday (November 4) evening. CFC’s Vafa Hakhamaneshi scored the solitary goal of the match in the 69th minute.

EBFC Head Coach Stephen Constantine named an unchanged lineup for the game. After the National Anthem, both camps observed a minute’s silence and paid their tributes to the deceased East Bengal fan Joy Sankar Saha, who passed away after last week’s Kolkata derby.

Midfielder Jordan O’Doherty earned EBFC their first chance of the night in the second minute. The Australian found himself in the opposition box, but his cross was blocked by Fallou Diagne.

The home side got an opportunity to break the deadlock in the 26th minute when VP Suhair played the ball inside the CFC box. The move, however, was intercepted by Diagne before CFC custodian Debjit Majumder collected the ball.

Ten minutes later, EBFC forward Cleiton Silva pounced on a loose ball from Hakhamaneshi, but his effort flew wide of the target. The first-half remained goalless.

In the 54th minute, EBFC skipper and custodian Kamaljit Singh pulled off his second save of the night. Prasanth Karuthadathkuni latched on to a powerful throw-in from CFC skipper Anirudh Thapa and unleashed a shot on target. However, Kamaljit dived full stretch to punch the ball out of danger.

CFC defender Hakhamaneshi’s 69th minute strike proved to be the difference as he nodded in an inch-perfect corner kick from Aakash Sangwan. However, the celebrations were short-lived as the Iranian was sent off the very next minute after receiving two bookings.

The Red and Gold Brigade, too, were dealt with a blow when defender Sarthak Golui received his marching orders in the 75th minute.

The EBFC strikers led by Eliandro kept pressing for the ball, but their efforts went in vain as the CFC defenders succeeded in keeping a clean sheet.

EBFC next cross swords with Bengaluru FC on November 11 at the Shree Kanteerava Stadium in Bangalore.